*Idye Poly* Soda ash?
  • I am dying a ball gown that is 100% poly... Do I use soda ash? and if so how do I do it? wash it in it and done rinse?

The gown is currently ivory...what is the best way to get a dark black with a hint of green?

My washing machine can get up to 190 degree water...so can I do it in the there?

Thanks! I have dyed before but this is my first time venturing into poly! :)
  • First, you want to make sure that you have purchased iDye Poly Black, item# JID1454. In order to achieve a deep black, the stove top method should be followed with your dyebath at a rolling boil. iDye Poly Black leans toward the green color space, but trying to lower the temperature, concentration or dyeing time could take you completely out of the black realm and into a green. Lastly, the only product that you need to use with iDye Poly is the iDye Poly Intensifier which comes in a separate package included inside the outer package. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Jenny
  • Thank you!. ..Ok So I get the dress wet before hand right?

If I just let it simmer instead of boil will I get a dark green with the IDye poly black? (I purchased several of the black and it should arrive in the mail today!)
  • You're welcome and you are more than welcome to adjust the dyeing factors, but the results become much more unpredictable. We can't say whether it'll be a dark green like forest green, or a drab green like olive. You'll just have to do some experimenting (if you want to) and see what you come out with. If it doesn't dye to your liking, then you can always redye at full strength, time and temperature to achieve a deep, dark black.

Jenny
  • Ok! Wish me luck! :) I will try and post the results once I am done later tonight!
  • Good luck!
  • iDye Poly, My Experience