Silk gets stiff after painting
  • Newbie here to silk painting....I'm using Dye-na-flow as directed ("Simply apply to pre-washed fabric with a brush, squirt bottle, sponge, or airbrush. Let dry. Iron fabric for 3 minutes on dry setting appropriate for fabric. Wash in cool water with Synthrapol and rinse." ) on silk habotai 8mm. However, after all is said and done, the fabric feels pretty stiff and not like silk at all.

Any thoughts on what would cause this and, better yet, how to remedy it?

Thanks!
  • You will probably find that with the second wash the softness will return. Also, have you used any resists?
    anet
  • Thanks anet, I'll give it a try. Do I need to use Synthrapol again or can I just hand wash with a mild detergeent?
  • just any mild detergent should do.
    ...and you are very welcome!
  • Hi anet...while you seem to be online :).... can you tell me, or point me to some info, regarding the difference btw the silk paints Jacquard sells. For example, why would I want to use the Green Label Silk Colors when the Dye-na-flow seems so simple? Are the colors/end product much better with the green label? Or red label for that matter? I've read the descriptions of each of the products, I think my question is mostly around the end product quality. Is one product really better for better color in the end?

I'm mostly painting on silk habotai 8mm.
  • yours is an oft asked question. The best answer is kind of long winded...hope you are up for it!