Chemical dye set
  • Hi,

I am a silk painting newbie. I am using jacquard green label and am ready to set my first projects. Some of the items may not do well being immersed, so I want to paint on directly, but find very little information about how to do that. Here are some questions;

Do you dilute the fixative when painting on directly? If so, same proportion?

How long should it dry?

Do you rinse it out?

I have also been using water based resists - did I see somewhere that those should be ironed to fix before using the chemical fix?

Thanks,
    Sue
  • The Jacquard Permanent Dyeset Concentrate is meant to be used only as an immersion fix for the Green Label Silk Colors, so we don't recommend applying it directly. If the item cannot be immersed, then it is best to use a paint, such as Dye-Na-Flow that is flowable and transparent and is heat set with an iron. Regarding the resist, if it is the clear waterbased resist, it does not need to be set and is meant to wash out with agitation in warm water. The Jacquard Permanent Waterbased Resists should be applied to the fabric, let dry and then ironed to fix them. Then the dyes or paints should be applied with the lines.

Jenny
  • Thank you, JennyR!

So the colored water based resists should be ironed before you paint or dye the silk? I have already applied the green label jacquard dye and the jacquard colored water based resist to a few items. Can they be ironed now to set them? Or should I try to set them first? I will try immersing them and see what happens. I have 2 cosmetic bags, and 2 tissue covers if that helps.

Thanks so much for your help, this forum is GREAT!

Sue
  • Yes, the colored resists should be ironed before the dye or paint is applied. You should heat set the resist now, otherwise it could bleed when you immerse it. However, applying heat to the dyes before they are set could cause color shifts. So, you'll want to prepare yourself for that possibility.

Jenny
  • Thanks, Jenny, I'll try it.

Sue