best fabric for painting with jacquard
  • hi there, i am just starting a project , got the transparent paints and need advise/recommendation on what cotton fabric to buy for best result! I would get the fabric on a bolt if possible, suggesttions on where to get it is most appreciated.
    What I know is too general, that I should go for pdf, high thread count, bleached and 100% cotton. When I search on the internet the million of cotton fabric makes me feel undecided. I would love to hear from you and your experience with jacquard on fabric.

thanks in advance
    chelsea
  • I just asked the same question, did not see yours. I read that Kona cotton is considered very good since it has a high thread count. It costs more than $4 a yard. I am concerned about whether or not the fabric would shrink after painting. Of course, I will wash it prior to painting. I will be using the textile paints, not dye. I have never done this before. A book I have by Sherrill Kahn says she uses quilter's muslin, but muslin is "loosely woven" which means the paint does not adhere as well, I think. Not sure.
  • chelsea said:
    hi there, i am just starting a project , got the transparent paints and need advise/recommendation on what cotton fabric to buy for best result! I would get the fabric on a bolt if possible, suggesttions on where to get it is most appreciated.
    What I know is too general, that I should go for pdf, high thread count, bleached and 100% cotton. When I search on the internet the million of cotton fabric makes me feel undecided. I would love to hear from you and your experience with jacquard on fabric.

thanks in advance
    chelsea

basing on your given choices above, I prefer to use cotton sateen for jacquard painting..