problem dyeing silk dress
  • I had a problem dyeing a silk dress. I used the immersion dyeing method with 030 Fire Engine Red Procion Mx Dye and follow the directions correctly even the water temp and the color turned like a fuschia red. Why did this happen. I had 1 lb. material and I made my dye bath with 2 1/2 gallon warm water (room temp) and used 2 lbs. salt and used 6 teaspoons of dye powder disolved, and 7 tablespoons soda ash delouted. Stir the bath constant. I am kind of new at this and any help would be appreciated. Also can I redye this and if so what should I do and what method. Someone told me to redye this with rit dye in scarlet.
  • Hi,

The instructions you followed were for cotton and not silk.! :o You shouldn't use soda ash with silk, vinegar is needed instead. See below.

Note : If you live in an area with hard water add calgon or used distilled waterr in the bath. Just for future reference Acid Dyes are far better for dyeing silk than Procon MX and yield stronger brighter shades.

Immersion Dyeing for Silk

Materials:
    3 gallons of warm water (105° F)
    Procion® MX dye (see bottom of page 2)
    1 1/2 to 3 cups of salt (non-iodized)
    2 cups 5% acetic acid (white vinegar)
    Synthrapol for rinsing
    In a stainless steel or enamel pot, put in water, dye and salt.
    Place pot on stove and stir.
    Add fiber.
    Raise the temperature over a 15 munute time span to simmer, stirring frequently.
    Remove or lift out the fiber, add the vinegar and stir.
    Return the fiber to the dyebath. Stir frequently at a simmer (about 180° to 195° F) for 30 to 45 minutes.
    Allow to cool before rinsing.
    Wool yarn, fabric, fleece and all animal hair fibers are dyed with this method. Silk yarn and fabric is dyed by the protein method but the dyebath is run at 100° F rather than heated.

Celia