Fixing Deep Purple
  • I have used Deep Purple before and never have gotten it to come out the way I want. I saw another message in the forums with someone who had a similar problem.

I want to add something to the Deep Purple I have on hand to make it come out as more of a blue violet.

Any suggestions for what to mix with Deep Purple to get a darker richer color are appreciated.

Heather

I ditched deep purple and swapped it for medium blue. I am going to try mixing fuschia with medium blue and hope that it works.
  • I'm no expert but I've never gotten deep purple to work either. I used it when it was 85 degrees and let it set for 24 hrs.

I just ordered some imperial purple from Dharma. It's really dark and I hope it washes out to be deep purple. Good luck and I hope it turns out.
  • Purple is an easy color to mix from the basics. All you need to make a purple into more of a blue-violet is, of course, to add more blue to it.

For a nice rich purple, mix fuchsia (red MX-8B) or magenta (red MX-5B) with half turquoise and half of some navy blue, such as cobalt blue.

My favorite navy blue mixture is a combination of reactive blue 9 (navy blue MX-3R) with a little magenta, which Jacquard sells as their navy 078. Add a little more magenta to it to get a deep, dark purple.

For the very brightest purple, mix fuchsia or magenta with turquoise, which is the clearest of all of the blues. (For a bright red-violet, use more fuchsia or magenta; for a bright blue-violet, use more turquoise.)