• Welcome to the Pearl Ex Family and Polymer Clay discussion group!
  • Hi Syndee and thanks,
    This looks like great fun.
    Tammy
  • Wew! I had to remember my username/password - for some reason it was messing with me!

What is your favorite way to use Pearl Ex on clay?
  • Hello,
    I am still kinda new to polymer clay. I like to use the pearl ex on everything and any thing I can get away with. I love the shine.
  • Maybe someone can help answer this for me. I finally splurged and bought the pearl ex to use on polymer clay! I put some on before I baked it. But when it was done baking, the pearl ex would rub off when I touched it. Not good for the beads I was making. This is my first time using the pearl ex. Am I doing something wrong?
  • You need to put a finish on the exposed pearl ex.

* future floor wax (cheapest way)
    * an acrylic based polyurathane (min wax has one)
    * before baking or after make a THIN sheet of premo bleached transluscent
    * use KATO liquid medium to make a nice matte sheen that is ready to wear right from the oven!
    * mix with kato liquid medium first and use as a "paint" - my personal fav.

As a side note - don't be impatient and start touching your pearlex until the piece is cooled.
    Good luck -
    Sue
  • morning. I'm doing the same thing with pearl x and clay beads. One thing i've discovered is to let the piece cool completely. Some of the colors you can buff a little bit. I worked with the interference violet the other day and was surprised by how much i could buff the piece. Then I applied Fimo Decorating Gel and rebaked them. This worked ok, but the gel is really much to thick. It tends to move the pigment around alot, and is a real pain to put on.

im going to try the Pearl-ex varnish, if i can find it. what i would really like is a nice bright gloss finish.