Painting wool yarn?
  • I am just starting to learn to dye yarn - and um... well I am a control freak sometimes :)

I like the idea of painting it where I can get very specific on where the colors do and do NOT go. I bought fuschia, yellow, blue, black and grey acid dyes and some superclear and used them tonight. I didn't know about steaming so I got it all painted on and stuck it into a pot of water (as per some instructions I bought on the internet). Of course the dyes bled into the water and eachother :( What is the best way to do this. I see people referencing steaming and microwaving. Also is the superclear the best way to do it? Should I be using one of the alginate products - if so which one?

I have a 50 lb bag of urea in my kitchen from the local feedstore that another online source said I needed to soak my yarn in...? LOL! Glad I found your site - why didn't I just try to go straight to the source in the first place? LOL!

OH yeah - and is there a mixing chart on how to make more colors from these basic ones - I figured out a few. But I want to make things like sienna, peach, salmon, apricot, etc.

Thanks in advance for your help :)
  • Which dyes are you using, exactly? Are they the Jacquard acid dyes? Just wanting to make sure we're talking about the same thing.

Before you try using alginate or superclear, just try to see what happens when you steam the yarns, instead of immersing them. There are recipes for alginate, but I don't see why Superclear wouldn't work.

At its simplest, steaming wool yarn doesn't have to be difficult at all. Wrap the yarn up in paper, then cook it in a covered pot over boiling water for half an hour. Don't let the pot boil dry. I think there should be a recipe for this somewhere on the Jacquard site.

Urea is used to keep fiber reactive dyes moist during an extended dye reaction. You don't need to use it with acid dyes.

Paula
  • Yes - using acid dyes. What kind of paper do I use?