batch drying question
  • hi! i am newbie here and have just begun attempts at silkscreening the procion mx dyes. my first attempt was not greatly successful. it worked ok. i let it air dry and then put them in the dryer, wetting the shirts where they were not painted a little bit. i didn't have problems with them running but they did not really seem to set. one did and one didn't one ran and ran. i washed it over 5 times and the other just once before they stopped running. of course the dye was much duller than i intended then. i would like to continue trying to work with the dye and it seems that the batch drying method really is the one that works the best. for the other shirts, i even steam ironed them after the drying and for a few steamed them. none of this seems to really have helped.

i want to batch set the next attempt. and i was wondering, i have large sheets of plastic. wouldn't it work if i laid shirts in the plastic and wrapped them up in it so that they were completely wrapped and let them set for 24 hrs? i am nervous about bundling my wet fabric, it might mess it up somehow.

how much difference should it make if i let it sit for 12, 24, or 48 hours? can you let it sit for too long? thank you, janet
  • Are you using soda ash at any point in this process?

Procion MX dyes require several things to react with the fabric:
    • 100% cotton (or other natural fiber) which is not stain resistant
    • moisture
    • soda ash or other source of high pH
    • warmth (70°F or above, overnight, or warmer for shorter periods of time)

Oven-setting is far from ideal, because it is dry heat, and the dye cannot react with the fiber if it is dry. However, urea can be used as a humectant to retain moisture even in the oven. Oven heating should not be necessary with "cool water" dyes such as Procion MX, unless your house or studio is very cold, because temperatures of 70°F and above are adequate, if you let the dye sit on the fabric overnight.