Tie dye party at the park
  • I am a newbie - I want to let my kids do tie dye at their birthday party - which will consist of about thirty 7 year olds at a park. My plan is to let the kids tie the shirts and then let me dye them. Because I really don't want deal with the mess of squirt bottles I thought I would just immerse the shirts - I have two BIG buckets (those jumbo plastic toy buckets, about 3 foot around and 3 foot deep). Then I thought I could just bag the shirts up and send them home with the kids to rinse out later. I having been surfing the web the last few weeks trying to figure out how to pull this off and I am getting very confused - - I glean a little from here and a little from there, but when I try to put it all together I get messed up!! Here are my questions:
    What is the simpliest type of dye to use to pull this off?? By that I mean what lends itself to being mixed with lukewarm water at a park?? What requires the least number of steps to do?? And is there a way I could do this where I didn't have to spend half of the party sitting and stirring the shirts? Could I just dip the shirts briefly in the dye and then bag them up?? Any suggestions on how to make this as simple as possible would be MUCH appreciated - I am going a little nutty! Thanks, MJ
  • Dear MJ, I am a great advocate of what you are going to do at this birthday party. I think it is one of the best projects to do because the kids will love it especially afterwards when they can wear their own shirts. Thirty kids is dang ambitious however. Lets say you do it like this. First get four Jacquard tie dye kits (the big ones) Do this project with the kids in groups of 5-7. This will take one adult's time so figure you can't do any other supervision at the same time. With this number of kids I'd try to get a teenager to do just the tie dye project. In small groups it will take 2 hours total.