Please help! Dyeing 100% Rayon shirt with Procion MX dyes
  • Hi! I'm new at dyeing 100% Rayon and new with using Procion MX dyes.

I basically need a 101 on what's the best method to dyeing 100% Rayon shirt with Procion MX dyes.
    ---What temperature should the water be when dyeing & when rinsing the dye out?
    I cannot use a washing machine to dye. I have a 5 gallon, 2 gallon (with airtight lid), and a few 1 gallon (1 with airtight lid) buckets. I do have plenty of soda ash.

Can anyone give me a 101 basic information about how to dye 100% Rayon shirt with Procion MX dyes?
  • Hi there,

Dyeing with Procion MX is pretty simple. You'll create a dye bath, your bath should be large enough to allow the fabric to move freely, pre-dissolve the dye in a quart or so of warm water (to ensure that it is completely dissolved) and pre-dissolve the soda ash so it's ready when you are.
    Add the dye solution to your main bath water, warm tap water is good, about 80° to 90°F, add your pre-wetted fabric to the bath, stirring it every 5 minutes or so for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes lift the fabric from the dye bath, add the soda ash solution and return the fabric to the bath. For another 50 to 60 minutes stir and rearrange the fabric every 5 minutes.
    Remove the fabric from the dye bath and rinse with cool water until the water runs fairly clear. When finished rinsing wash in warm water with detergent.
    Here is the link for specific instructions for immersion dyeing for cellulose fabrics: http://jacquardproducts.com/assets/jacquard-site/product-pages/dyes/procion-mx/Procion MX Instructions.pdf

If you have any other questions let me know.
    annette
  • @anet - I already have that PDF printed out so I can read as I go.
    Also, I wrote the original post when I was exhausted, at the wee-hours of the night, that I just realized that I forgot 1 important piece of info about what I wanted to do with the Rayon shirt.