Procion MX Dyes-Mixing Chart
  • Hello All!

I'm new to the forum and to dyeing, although I have a lot of experience as a crafter and designer.
    My question: what do the colors on the Procion MX Dye mixing chart really look like? Is there a color chart I could refer to? This question is about the MIXED colors, not the original purchased colors.
    Or: do the colors, such as "Indian Red", "Prussian Blue" or "Teal" correspond to any chart like "Pantone" or a color wheel ?
    I'd appreciate some guidance.

Thanks,
    Anketai
  • Hi,
    Dye colors are affected by the fabric type that they are applied to. For instance Procion MX dyes produce different colors on each fabric type because they are reactive dyes. Some colors such as chocolate MX on cotton, silk or rayon produce very different effects on each fabric type. I wish we did have a pantone type chart but it really is down to your experimentation and keeping a record of your experiments.
    Celia
  • Yes, it is true that dye colors look different on different fabrics and under different conditions - and on different monitors - but - the mixing chart that Jacquard offers on the web site is a great thing, and would be SO much more useful if there was a color chip associated with each formula - with the caveat that is shows the recipe on this fabric under these conditions on your monitor. Color visuals are offered for the premixed dyes available for purchase, so clearly it is feasible...sorry to sound crabby, but I love that mixing chart and use it all the time, and I constantly lament that the names simply don't give enough information.
  • Thanks. I'll pass on your comments to our webmaster.
    Celia