Silk preparation for acid dyes
  • The instructions show how to mix the acid dyes for painting techniques. How do I treat the fabric? One source says to wet the fabric with vinegar, then paint, then micro-wave. That seems pretty damaging to the fabric to me. But acid needs to be introduced somehow. And then do I dry before steaming to prevent further transfer of color in my image? I am a painter that wishes to work on moving silk and desire the bright colors of an acid dye. Further, would rather use dye than pigmented acrylic--I have tried that and am unhappy with the texture change of the completed work.
    thanks
    Fulton
  • Hi,
    here are some instructions. You need to steam the colors after painting. Wait 24 hours before doing so.

Celia

Acid Dyes for Silk Painting:

Add 8 oz. (1 cup) of very hot water to one .5 oz. Acid Dye Powder. Stir until dissolved. This will yield a very concentrated dye solution. Most colors require further dilution. Note: every color has a different solubility. Some colors are difficult to dissolve such as 605 and 618, but most are easily dissolved. The final concentration of the dye solution for painting should be between 4 and 8%. Start by adding 4 oz. (1/2 cup) of water to the 8 ounces you already have, test the color and continue adding water until desired shade is achieved. Keep in mind that the color intensity really develops in the steam setting process. Most colors will remain stable in solution for a long period of time. However, some colors will fall out of solution upon cooling or from sitting for a matter of weeks. To restore them simply heat them on the stove. A small amount of alcohol (about 1 tablespoon) can be added to the dye solution as a wetting agent.
  • These are the instructions for mixing paint, which are on the website. I need the instructions for handling fabrics. For example, suggested ways for:

Preparation of fabric

Application of dye mixture (working wet or dry?)

Use of resists