Using Acid Dyes on silk brick
  • Hi, I am a fiber artist and have been using the Jacquard Acid dyed on my wools with great success. Recently, I delved into the mysterious world of silk. Since I handpaint my wool, I wanted to do the same for silk. After spending hours reading about it, I took the plunge. I LOVE the results, but now think I made my "Bright Yellow" far too concentrated, and used too much, because as I rinse, the water comes up yellow again and again. My method was this: Soak the loosened "brick" in water/vinegar solution overnight. Dilute my acid dyes with vinegar and water in my little squirt bottles. Apply the dye liberally, spreading the fibers apart to make sure I leave no areas white, pressing and squishing the dye into the fibers. I then wrapped it up with saran wrap and steamed for about 45 minutes. When I went to rinse, I notices the yellow was leaching big time. So I read some more online and steamed it even longer, probably close to 2 hours. Then I let it sit overnight. Went to rinse it-all cold water, and it just will not stop leaching yellow! I rinse, agitating it well, spreading the fibers to make sure the water gets everywhere, etc, squeeze it out and drain, then refill with fresh cold water, and repeat. I have literally done this about 75 times now. Any advice? Now i just want the yellow gone!!
  • Hi MC,

You've got a frustrating situation going on...
    I have a couple of questions for clarification - When you are steaming you say you've wrapped the fiber in plastic wrap, is the fiber wet or dry at this point? Are you steaming in a 'vegie steamer' type chamber - fiber on a rack over boiling water in a lidded pot? Do you know how hot your chamber got and stayed? Are there other colors in this specific brick? Is this a 'raw' silk (serisen remains)?
    Is the yellow looking at all faded in the silk?

I'm sure we can figure out what is going on here...

annette
  • Hi Annette,