how do I dye silk/rayon scarves
  • Hi I am new to the Jacquard forum and my username is sharonkay. I have a bunch of silk/rayon velvet blend scarf blanks in my house. I need to know which is the best dye to use for these types of scarves. I heard that Procion MX is the best dye. I would like to know how to mix these dyes without using a thickener and I would like to be able to steam set my scarves instead of setting them with soda ash. Please give me some good instructions because I would like to dye these scarves before the end of the year. Thank you very much.
  • Hi,

Yes MX dyes are the best dye to use with rayon and silk mixes. Mix the dye colors up with some chemical water. This contains citric acid and and urea when painting on silk.

Acid based Chemical water

¾ cup (188 ml) warm 120oF(49oC) water, 5 tsp (20 gm) Urea, 1 tsp (6 gm) Citric Acid Crystals, ¼ tsp (1.25 ml) Synthrapol, add water to equal one cup (250 ml).

Add 1/2 teaspoon to 4 teaspoons of dye depending on desired shade to the chemical water. Black may require up to 8 teaspoons. Add sodium alginate to this mixture to thicken it if desired.

Add 1/2 teaspoon per 250ml of dye of Ludigol to Procion MX dye when steam-setting for brighter more vibrant color results. Especially good with turquoise!

Here is a link to the instructions for steaming and hand painting.

http://www.jacquardproducts.com/products/dyes/procionmx/instructions2.php

Celia
  • The rayon plush on the scarf won't dye at an acid pH, even when steamed,
    will it? I predict that you will end up with a pale, non-washfast stain on the
    rayon portion of the scarves, and a good intense color on the silk backing, if
    you try to dye them with Procion MX dyes at an acid pH, using citric acid. If
    you use citric acid in your dye paint, you should not also use soda ash or
    baking soda, because they will just cancel each other out.

I think that, even with steaming, dyeing rayon will need a pH of at least 8, which