100% Nylon Taffeta
  • I apologize if this is not the right forum for this question...I am a complete beginner when it comes to anything crafty.

I am getting married and am having a very simple gown made. No detailing/beading/etc. whatsoever on the gown other than a corset-type lacing up the back which is going to be in hot pink.

It was suggested that I dye my petticoats to match the lacing so that I have a little flash of color under the skirt to add a little oomph to the dress. I loved the idea! Jacquard Acid Dyes where recommended because of the fabric (100% Nylon Taffeta), so I purchased some in Hot Fuchsia and gave it a shot.

The problem is that it came out rather bright/light pink rather than hot pink/fuchsia. I followed the instructions and I even dyed it a second time with no luck in deepening the color. But in each rinse cycle, the majority of the color just washed right out.

My questions are...

I have a front load washing machine. Am I able to dye fabrics in a front load machine? (The first dye attempt was done at my sister's in a top load machine and I would really hate to ask to impose on her again.)

The same person who suggested I dye the petticoats suggested using salt. The directions indicate vinegar. Is this okay to do and will it make a difference?

Would letting it soak for hours and hours make a difference?

Help!? Any other suggestions that might make a difference?

Thank you for sharing your knowledge!
    Dawn
  • Hi Dawn,

It's always a little tricky to dye Nylon. The Acid Dyes will work on some but not all Nylons. So you got some result (hurray:) ) but not exactly what you were hoping for :( . Adding salt to the dye bath isn't going to help much here (and you definitely don't want to use it instead of vinegar). The front load washer is fine--especially if you can adjust the cycles to get a better soak. You may get better results using the stove top method---here is the link to the instructions