advice on achieving a smooth gradient
  • Hello,

I am rather new to dyeing. I am working with cotton yardage that will eventally be the background for a piece of art quilting deplicting an underwater scene. I am trying to achieve a smooth color gradient from a light turquoise blue through a medium blue and ending with a dark colbalt blue. I want to avoid obvious lines marking the transition from one shade to the next. The piece of fabric I am dyeing is a triangle 14 feet long and 6 feet high.

I have attempted this once before with a much smaller piece of fabric and had moderate success. I used immersion dyeing technique and Procion MX dye. The dye and color was fabulous but I had some trouble making the color transition smooth. I had at lest one noticable line marking the end of a lighter color and the beginning of a darker color. Is there a technique that will help me smooth out these transitions? I am much apreciative of any suggestions. Thank you.
  • As in watercolor painting, when you want a smooth gradation of color, always work wet-on-wet, that is, with premoistened fabric.

After mixing the colors you want in your gradation, use additional bottles to make intermediate mixtures of those colors. Start with your bottles of turquoise, royal blue, and cobalt blue. Take some of the dye solution from each of these bottles to make a half turquoise/half medium blue mixture in one bottle, and a half medium blue/half cobalt blue mixture in another. Depending on the size of your project and how much of a perfectionist you're being, consider also mixing a bottle in between each of the five different colors you now have.