Dyeing small amounts of silk with IDye
  • How can I use the Idye packet to dye a small amount of silk chiffon on the stove top and save the remainder for other projects? I'm new to this and there seem to be conflicting use instructions.
  • iDye comes in a dissolvable packet. Typically, the entire packet is dissolved into the dye bath (whether that's a pot on the stove or a washing machine). However, you can also cut open the pouch and remove the dye powder. You can scoop or pour out the amount of dye powder you want, and then store the remainder of the dye in a dry place (in an envelope, jar, Tupperware, etc). Just be careful when handling dye powders: you DO NOT want to breathe airborne dye particles. An alternative would be to dissolve the dye packet in a jar of hot water and then pour off the amount you want. The advantage here would be that you wouldn't have to handle dye powders--instead you'd have a jar of very concentrated liquid dye... Either way, it is not difficult to use just a portion of the dye, and save the rest for later!
  • Thank you. The last alternative of storing the concentrate in a jar is very appealing. I appreciate your help.
  • Asher,
    I used your advice and got a beautiful deep Aztec Gold with the silk. There was a good deal of shrinkage, but no color loss. Now I'd like to dye some wool roving with the left over to match. Is it worth my time. I've read Idye really isn't for wool. Any recommendations on the easiest way to dye roving? Thanks.