silk watercolor effect
  • HI, I am new to dyeing on silk. I want to dye a 3 yard 5mm white silk veil. I want a watercolor effect. Do I use acid dyes and vinegar? Can I direct apply the dye? Or do I have to immerse it? Thanks Kelly B
  • Hi Kelly,

Could you clarify what you mean by 'watercolor effect' - it will help me answer your question a little better.

thanks,
    anet
  • Hi,

Are you refering to the watercolor technique which is painting on silk by priming the silk with an antifusant such as no flow? If you are you can use acid dye or any other dye suitable for silk.

Below are the instructions for using acid dyes.

ACID DYE
    Washing Machine Dyeing for Fabric:
    Set the washing machine to gentle cycle, hot wash/cool rinse and fill to the lowest level appropriate for the amount of fabric being dyed. Add dye powder and agitate until dissolved. Some dye colors are denser than others, so use 1/2 jar for one pound of fabric, 1/4 jar for 1/2 lb. of fabric, etc. Add clean fiber and agitate two minutes. Add one cup of vinegar being careful not to pour directly onto fabric. Before wash cycle is complete, turn machine off and examine fabric. Fabric looks much darker wet than it does dry. To test your results, dye a scrap of material with your main load and dry with a hair dryer. At this point, you may let the machine continue through its cycle or start again, adding more dye if desired to increase the depth of the shade. Wash in cool water and Synthrapol or liquid soap.
    Stove Top Method: